Mys Smolyanoi — a place of intertwining history with the present

Peter’s Park and monument to Peter I

The name of Peter the Great is not accidental on the map of Vyborg. This is a tribute to the reformer king, who managed to take the invincible Vyborg fortress in 1721. Then the city passed from the Swedes into the possession of the Russian state.

It is said that before the siege Peter I watched the fortress from the highest point of the Resin Cape. Now it is the territory of Petrovsky Park, located on the part of Annensky fortifications with powder cellars.

What to see in Vyborg - a monument to Peter I on the Rocky CapeHistorical places in Vyborg-photo

Petrovsky Park — a small English Park, surrounded by a fence, planted with tall, durable trees. It was laid out in the middle of the 19th century, and was called the Garden of St. Anne in honor of the Empress Anna Ioannovna. During the Finnish Board of the Park had a different name — Terminalista, or the Garden of the Resin of the Cape (from the Finnish name of the Cape is Resin — Tervaniemi). After the war the Park was re-landscaped.

The Park alley leads to the monument to Peter the Great. It was established by the decree of Nicholas II on the occasion of the 200th anniversary of the capture of Vyborg. From the site at the monument offers an overview of the restaurant, located in a renovated powder cellar.

From Vyborg castle to the Park no more than a 5-minute walk on the bridge. The Park is located between the streets of the Island and the Assault. It makes sense to do this simple way for a luxurious view of the Old town or castle, which opens at the monument to Peter.

Archive building

On Cape Smolyan is a bright building of the Leningrad regional state archive. It was designed by the architect UNO Ulberg at the time when the city was part of Finland. During the construction of the Vyborg district archive the Foundation of the garrison Peter and Paul Cathedral was used, which was not completed.

During the war, the archive building was not damaged, so until today it is used for its intended purpose. The building still has the layout of the premises, as well as necessary for document storage conditions. This is a good example of combining the past with the present.

The Leningrad regional state archive of Vyborg photos

City beach

The archive is located near the city beach of Cape Resin. It is an artificially created beach, which was cleared of boulders and covered with sea sand (1931-1932).On the beach of Tervaniemi was held the all-Finnish swimming championship in the mid-30s of the last century. The beach was landscaped and re-opened to residents in 2014. Now there is a children’s Playground and a cafe.

Today in Vyborg tourism is actively developing. The city is positioned as a center of medieval attractions, as well as a bridge connecting Russia and Scandinavia. This concept fits perfectly and Cape Smolyanoy with its historical objects.

Мыс Смоляной — место переплетения истории с современностью

Петровский парк и памятник Петру I

Имя Петра Великого не случайно встречается на карте Выборга. Это дань царю-реформатору, который сумел взять в 1721 году непобедимую Выборгскую крепость. Тогда город перешел от шведов во владение государства Российского.

Говорят, перед осадой Петр I наблюдал за крепостью с наиболее высокой точки Смоляного мыса. Теперь это территория Петровского парка, расположенного на части Анненских укреплений с пороховыми погребами.

Что посмотреть в Выборге - памятник Петру I на мысе СкалистомИсторические места в Выборге - фото

Петровский парк — небольшой английский парк, окруженный оградой, засаженный высокими, долговечными деревьями. Он был разбит в середине 19 века, и назывался Сад св. Анны в честь императрицы Анны Иоанновны. Во время финского правления парк носил иное название — Терваниеменпуйсто, или Сад Смоляного мыса (от финского названия мыса Смоляной — Терваниеми). После войны территория парка была вновь благоустроена.

Парковая аллея ведет к памятнику Петру Великому. Его установили указом Николая II по случаю 200-летия взятия Выборга. С площадки у памятника открывается обзор на ресторан, разместившийся в отреставрированном пороховом погребе.

От Выборгского замка до парка не более 5 минут ходьбы по Крепостному мосту. Парк расположен между улицами Островная и Штурма. Имеет смысл проделать этот несложный путь ради роскошного вида Старого города или замка, который открывается у памятника Петру.

Здание архива

На мысе Смоляном располагается светлое здание Ленинградского областного государственного архива. Его спроектировал архитектор Уно Ульберг в то время, когда город был частью Финляндии. При строительстве Выборгского окружного архива использовали фундамент гарнизонного Петропавловского собора, который не был достроен.

За время войны здание архива не пострадало, поэтому до сегодняшнего дня используется по назначению. В здании сохранилась задуманная планировка помещений, а также необходимые для хранения документов условия. Это хороший пример объединения прошлого с настоящим.

Ленинградский областной государственный архив Выборг фото

Городской пляж

Вблизи архива находится городской пляж мыса Смоляного. Это искусственно созданный пляж, который был расчищен от валунов и засыпан морским песком (1931–1932 гг.).На пляже Терваниеми был проведен общефинляндский чемпионат по плаванию в середине 30-х гг. прошлого века. Пляж был благоустроен и снова открыт для горожан в 2014 году. Теперь здесь расположена детская площадка и кафе.

Сегодня в Выборге активно развивается туризм. Город позиционируется как центр средневековых достопримечательностей, а также как мост, соединяющий Россию и Скандинавию. В эту концепцию отлично вписывается и мыс Смоляной с его историческими объектами.